I am super excited this week, as Will and I are off on a holiday together. An actual leaving-home-behind-and-staying-in-a-hotel-and-doing-relaxing-things-together sort of holiday. We worked out that this will be the first time in 5 years we’ve managed to scrape together the money to go away. We didn’t even have a honeymoon. So this trip is VERY exciting indeed.

A lot of my holiday days last year were used up when I had my chest surgery. At the time I was on probation, and therefore not entitled to sick pay, so I carefully amassed holiday in the knowledge that I’d need it sometime, and made sure that I didn’t fritter away days that I might need if something went wrong and I needed more time off. I used a few to go to London to see various doctors too, though my boss was incredibly good to me, helping me work around time off to make sure I wasn’t worn out by the end of the year. As you can imagine, going away for a holiday just wasn’t on the cards in 2011.

I find these last minute package holidays quite appealing – you pay not a lot of money, pack your bag, and get whisked off to who-knows-where. Those probably aren’t the best choice for vegans, though, unless you really want to live on salad, chips and beer for a week. Plus neither of us are really sun worshippers, though I could go a week of sizzling on a beach if it was offered. I would like to go abroad for a break at some stage, and hopefully I can convince Will that sizzling can be combined with doing lots of interesting stuff. Until I get a valid passport again, though, it’s the UK for us.

Those of you who know me won’t be terribly surprised to learn we are going on holiday by train, and I shall do my best not to regale Will with comparisons of the different Train Operating Companies we are travelling with, or by pointing out the differences between 315s and 379s. Apparently Will has no interest in the relative seating capacity and luggage storage potential of each. So instead I will have to concentrate on looking at the passing countryside, and looking forward to a week of good food, local beer, lethal cider and all the delights that only a Travelodge room can bring…

