Those of you who follow my vlog on YouTube (MrHerbertTurtle) will have seen that my latest offering was talking about patience. I try not to duplicate the things I say in my videos with what I write in my blog, but suffice it to say I was talking about how little patience I have, in particular related to my plans for chest surgery.

I am extraordinarily lucky to live where I do, as Norfolk PCT currently has a pathway for transgender people which bypasses a lot of the waiting most people have to endure. I say currently, because things are a-changing, and I am probably one of the last people to take this particular route to treatment. I really have no right to be impatient. None. But sometimes, when things don’t happen as and when planned, it can be hard to be mindful of my good fortune. That’s why I was grumbling on my vlog that trying to ‘lead’ this self-proclaimed patient-led process has been a bit exasperating recently.

I received a phone call today, though, which didn’t just make my day, it was like a thousand and one birthdays all rolled into one and blasted into the skies like a giant joy firework. My surgeon’s secretary called to say they’d got the funding approval letter from my PCT that I’ve been chasing so doggedly, and when did I want my surgery?

I tried briefly to sound cool. I failed. Quite badly. In between my happy burblings, we plumped for 12th September. Not long now!

***

For anybody interested, the photo is from the Telegraph’s Pictures of the Year 2009, and is an artwork called The World’s Largest Breasts, by Chinese artist Shu Yong, being towed by an ox in Qingyuan, Guangdong Province, China

