People who know that I am trans tend to fall into two categories when they want to know more about me. There are those who start any question with “I really hope you don’t think I’m…I mean, if it’s ok, I wondered…I don’t want to offend, but….”. And then there are those who think it’s ok to ask about the geography of my genitalia within five minutes of meeting me.

As you might have gathered, I am a very open person. I don’t mind being asked just about anything. It just depends how you ask, and how happy you are to accept “no comment” as the answer. I do have my limits, though. The first rule of Pants Club is, you do not talk about Pants Club. Well, something like that. Rather like people who automatically assume that it is ok to touch a pregnant woman’s stomach, too many people assume it is ok to ask if/when I am going to have genital surgery. I’ve had practical strangers ask me that. As an example, I had to have a drugs test for my new job (nothing dodgy, I promise), and had to ‘declare’ my testosterone, which, along with my name, outed me completely. Two minutes into the test, the nurse started asking about my surgery plans. Nothing to do with the testing, she was just curious.

Now I’m not stupid. I KNOW that as soon as most people meet a trans person, they start thinking about what’s in their pants. It is as if they think that the only thing that trans people have to do to “change sex” (sic) is go and have an operation. I’d like to give people the benefit of the doubt and assume that this is largely because the process of transitioning is not something most people are familiar with, so their questions veer towards the over-personal. With that in mind, I would like to devote next week’s blog to a Question and Answer session. If you have questions, however odd or basic, please get in touch. If you know me on Facebook, PM me your questions. Otherwise, leave them as a comment. I do reserve the right not to answer, but I will be polite about it. And remember the first rule of Pants Club is, you do not talk about Pants Club, so I won’t be answering any of those pesky genitalia questions. Not this time.

